Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareIndiana University
Bloomington, IN USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: cellimage.jpg

'Dual login' mechanism found to resist fungal infection in cells

Indiana University researchers have identified how two immune receptors coordinate closely to trigger a powerful response against fungal invaders, which could help advance research on cancer therapies.
18-Nov-2019 3:25 PM EST Add to Favorites

FDA awards $1.7 million to IU and other universities for quality management research

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has awarded $1.7 million to five universities, including Indiana University, for a wide-ranging research project designed to help the agency better understand how to employ its quality management resources when...
14-Nov-2019 8:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

First-of-its-kind online tool helps Indiana communities address climate change vulnerabilities

Indiana University's Environmental Resilience Institute has launched the Hoosier Resilience Index, a first-of-its-kind online tool to help local governments and Indiana residents understand how their communities are vulnerable to climate change and...
12-Nov-2019 12:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Fig6reconstruction1.jpg

New fossil pushes back physical evidence of insect pollination to 99 million years ago

A study co-led by researchers at Indiana University and the Chinese Academy of Sciences has pushed back the first-known physical evidence of insect flower pollination to 99 million years ago, during the mid-Cretaceous period.
11-Nov-2019 1:20 PM EST Add to Favorites

U.S. economy continues to expand, but at a slower pace, reaching about 2 percent growth in 2020

The U.S. economy will continue to expand for a 12th consecutive year in 2020, but by only about 2 percent and struggling to remain at that level by year's end. Indiana's economic output will be more anemic, growing at a rate of about 1.25 percent,...
6-Nov-2019 12:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: pggeddppvb_w768.jpg

Former Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley to serve as Kelley School's Poling Chair

Former Maryland Gov. Martin J. O' Malley will visit the Indiana University Kelley School of Business as its Poling Chair of Business and Government during the current academic year.
4-Nov-2019 3:45 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: mccabe_expert.jpg

McCabe article analyzes EPA’s weakening of air pollution rules for industry

In a new article published by Harvard Law School, Janet McCabe, director of the Environmental Resilience Institute, details how the Trump Administration is weakening one of the long-established cornerstones of the Clean Air Act to appease industry...
31-Oct-2019 4:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: trabecularmeshwork.jpg

Telescope technology used to take first accurate images of glaucoma-related eye structure

Researchers at the IU School of Optometry have used adaptive optics technology to create the first undistorted microscopic images of the eye's trabecular meshwork, which could help improve treatment for glaucoma.
15-Oct-2019 2:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Contacts

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Steve Hinnefeld
News and Media Specialist
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

slhinnef@indiana.edu

812-856-3488

Christine Johnson
Executive Director of Research Communications

cj100@iu.edu

Mary Keck
Public Affairs & Presidential Communications Specialist

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization

stgmart@iu.edu

Steven Martin
Senior Communications Specialist

stgmart@iu.edu

3172781505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Jennifer Piurek
Editor

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Strategic Communications Director, Bloomington
Arts humanities

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

Rich Schneider
Senior News & Media Specialist

rcschnei@iu.edu

(317) 278-4564

Michael Schug
Communications Manager, IU Simon Cancer Center

maschug@iupui.edu

317-278-0953

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Avery Scott
Communications Intern

avescott@iu.edu

6308818186

Karen Spataro
Communications Director

keschbac@iu.edu

617-233-3627

Karen Spataro
Director of Strategic Communications

keschbac@iu.edu

317-278-3676

April Toler
Assistant Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Nicole Wilkins
Assistant Director of Strategic Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist
medicine

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!
2.24386