Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of California San Diego
La Jolla, CA USA

Our News on Newswise

UC San Diego Breaks Record with $1.35B in Research Funding

In fiscal year 2019 (July 1-June 30), UC San Diego earned $1.35 billion in sponsored research funding, a 10% increase over the previous year. This is the largest number ever for the university and marks the 10th consecutive year the campus has...
17-Oct-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Clingfish biology inspires better suction cup

A team of engineers and marine biologists built a better suction cup inspired by the mechanism that allows the clingfish to adhere to both smooth and rough surfaces, such as rocks in the area where the tide comes and goes.
16-Oct-2019 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: GraphicAbstract.jpg

Findings Bridge Knowledge Gap between Pheromone Sensitivity and Courtship

Scientists have found a key link between fertility and the response strength of pheromone-sensing neurons. They found that a channel known as PPK25 amplifies courtship signals in olfactory receptor neurons of male flies. PPK25 heightens males’...
14-Oct-2019 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PTBi-pregnant.png

UC San Diego Researchers Connect Premature Births to Possible Causes in Central California

A research team led by UC San Diego has created an interactive map of preterm births — births before 37 weeks of gestation — and potential environmental and social drivers across Fresno County in Central California.
15-Oct-2019 4:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Drug-light combo could offer control over CAR T-cell therapy

UC San Diego bioengineers are a step closer to making CAR T-cell therapy safer, more precise and easy to control. They developed a system that allows them to select where and when CAR T cells get turned on so that they destroy cancer cells without...
14-Oct-2019 7:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PR20191014_SeedMeLab_640x400.jpg

SDSC Launches Open-Source ‘SeedMeLab’

Researchers at the San Diego Supercomputer Center at UC San Diego have launched an open-source software called SeedMeLab, which provides a host of features for researchers across all disciplines to manage and disseminate their data products from a...
14-Oct-2019 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

These New Soft Actuators Could Make Soft Robots Less Bulky

Engineers at the University of California San Diego have developed a way to build soft robots that are compact, portable and multifunctional. The advance was made possible by creating soft, tubular actuators whose movements are electrically...
8-Oct-2019 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Syrian-Refugees-photo-by-iStock_dinosmichail-523622452.jpg

Study Identifies Religious Bias Against Refugees

When you hold constant national origin, religion is the most powerful source of discrimination against refugees to the United States – mattering more than gender, age, fluency in English or professional skill. Also: Though anti-Muslim bias...
9-Oct-2019 12:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: callender.jpg

Understanding the ethics of genetic engineering – let our experts at UC San Diego explain

7-Jun-2019 2:05 PM EDT

Newswise: siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

Newswise: PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Newswise: 20160727-Best_Teacher-3311-ok.jpg

Structural Engineer Available for Interviews About Damage in Mexico Earthquake.

20-Sep-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Saving the World, One Robot Swarm-Infested Hurricane at a Time

11-Sep-2017 6:05 PM EDT

Seismologists Available to Discuss North Korea 6.3 Seismic Event

3-Sep-2017 3:05 PM EDT

Researcher Available to Discuss Impact of Solar Eclipse on Solar Power Generation

16-Aug-2017 7:05 AM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we embrace a culture of exploration and experimentation. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to look deeper, challenge expectations and redefine conventional wisdom. As one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Division of Biological Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Christine Clark
Assistant Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Resource Mangement & Planning, School of Global Policy and Strategy

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Alicia Clarke
Communications Manager
Qualcomm Institute

amclarke@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-5825

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-0142

Michelle Franklin
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-534-8564

Jeff Gattas
Assistant Chancellor
University Communications and Public Affairs

jgattas@ucsd.edu

858-822-6914

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Janet Howard
Director, Digital Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jehoward@ucsd.edu

858-822-2986

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Manager, Strategic Marketing Communications
Student Affairs, Diversity, Preuss School

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Division of Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Amy Lipsitz
Social Media Strategist
Strategic Communications

alipsitz@ucsd.edu

858-822-3353

Jericho Lopez
Director, Marketing and Business Development
UC San Diego Extension

jll054@ucsd.edu

858-534-9228

Laura Margoni
Executive Director of Strategic Communications
University Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Chase Martin
Media Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

ccm003@ucsd.edu

858-246-3101

Robert Monroe
Senior Public Information Rep
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Judy Piercey
Sr. Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jpiercey@ucsd.edu

8585346128

Patrick Riedling
Senior Director of Executive Communications
Chancellor's Office

priedling@ucsd.edu

(858) 246-5712

Amanda Rubalcava
Marketing Communications Specialist
University Communications

arubalcava@ucsd.edu

858-534-3121

Joleen Schultz
Director, Marketing Communications
Rady School of Management

joleen@joleenschultzassociates.com

858-534-5468

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Jan Zverina
Director of Communications
San Diego Supercomputer Center

jzverina@sdsc.edu

858-534-5111

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!