Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Kentucky
Lexington, KY USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: Concretetest.JPG

University of Kentucky Project Seeks to Create More Environmentally Friendly, Stronger Cement

The UK Center for Applied Energy Research has received a two-year, $1.3 million grant to develop extremely durable belite-based cement — an alternative to ordinary Portland cement — that is low-energy consuming and low-carbon dioxide releasing.
21-Jan-2020 11:15 AM EST Add to Favorites

Menthol Ban Could Increase Health Equity

Current policies that include restrictions on the sale of menthol flavored tobacco and nicotine products are less likely to reach those that would benefit from them the most, according to new research from the University of Kentucky’s College of...
16-Jan-2020 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: gentry-zhu-kuang.JPG

Antibiotics could be promising treatment for form of dementia

Researchers at the University of Kentucky’s College of Medicine have found that a class of antibiotics called aminoglycosides could be a promising treatment for frontotemporal dementia.
10-Jan-2020 8:35 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 191212CarrieOser187copy.JPG

New $3 Million Study to Look at Influences on Using Opioid Medications in Criminal Justice Setting

With $3 million in funding from NIDA and NIGMS, UK College of Arts & Sciences Professor Carrie Oser is leading a new study focusing on factors that influence a person’s decision to use one of the three FDA-approved medications for the treatment of...
9-Jan-2020 5:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Gut Microbes May Improve Stroke Recovery

New research by the University of Kentucky's College of Medicine reveals that supplementing the body's short chain fatty acids could improve stroke recovery.
8-Jan-2020 8:50 AM EST Add to Favorites

UK Study Examines Insomnia Among Women in Appalachian Kentucky

University of Kentucky research to examine and improve women’s sleep habits sheds light on insomnia among middle-aged women in Appalachian Kentucky. It also highlights a promising non-pharmaceutical intervention that could help them get a good...
3-Jan-2020 9:55 AM EST Add to Favorites

$24 Million Partnership to Advance Next Generation Manufacturing Technologies in Kentucky

The project, Kentucky Advanced Partnership for Enhanced Robotics and Structures (or KAMPERS), will harness the collective research power of 40 multidisciplinary researchers from eight Kentucky universities and colleges. The grant will support the...
17-Dec-2019 5:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

4 Santa Approved Holiday Playlists From UK School of Music

The right soundtrack for the holiday season is a gift in and of itself. Music can set the mood, touch the soul, lift the spirit or bring about cheer whether hosting a dinner party, braving the crowds to shop for that special someone or wrapping...
17-Dec-2019 3:55 PM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Kentucky is a public, land grant university dedicated to improving people's lives through excellence in education, research and creative work, service, and health care. As Kentucky's flagship institution, the university plays a critical leadership role by promoting diversity, inclusion, economic development, and human well-being.

Contacts

Ann Blackford
Dentistry, health sciences, nursing and public health

ann.blackford@uky.edu

859-323-6442

Jay Blanton
Executive Director of Public Relations

jay.blanton@uky.edu

859-257-6605

Katy Bennett
Marketing Specialist
Education law student government marketing

katy.bennett@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kelley Bozeman
Brand Management Deputy Director

kelleyb@uky.edu

859-257-3303

Grace Colville
Information Specialist
Family and Community Medicine, University Health Services

grace.colville@uky.edu

8595622294

Ryan Girves
Information Specialist

ryan.girves@uky.edu

Alicia Gregory
Video Producer

apgreg@uky.edu

859-257-2980

Gail Hairston
Public Relations Officer
Human resources, facilities management & sustainability medical

gail.hairston@uky.edu

859-257-3302

Whitney Hale
Senior Information Specialist
Fine arts and libraries

Whitney.Hale@uky.edu

859-257-8716

Kathy Johnson
Deputy Director, News Bureau
public safety

kathy.johnson@uky.edu

859-257-3155

Amy Jones-Timoney
Senior Informations Specialist for Multimedia News
Admissions, development and campus video

aljoneb@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kristi Lopez
Director, Med Ctr. News Bureau
medical

kristi.lopez@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Meg Mills
Information Specialist
Education, Communication, Information Technology, Library Science, Human Development

margaret.mills@uky.edu

859-323-7978

Allison Perry
Public Relations Officer

allison.perry@uky.edu

859-323-2399

Lindsey Piercy
Information Specialist
Social Work, Humanities, Law, Engineering

lindsey.piercy@uky.edu

859-323-5613

Mallory Powell
Information Specialist Senior
Center for Clinical and Translational Science

mallory.powell@uky.edu

859-323-2395

Jenny Wells
Senior Information Specialist
Communications, financial aid, capital projects and audio

jenny.wells@uky.edu

859-257-5343

Elizabeth Chapin
Information Specialist

elizabeth.chapin@uky.edu

859-562-2207

Danielle Donham
Information Specialist - Law, Agriculture, Food and Environment, Graduate School, Public Policy

danielle.donham@uky.edu

859-562-2660

Mallory Olson

mallory.olson@uky.edu

Hillary Smith
Public Relations Officer

hillary.smith@uky.edu

859-257-5307

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!
1.12552